Unfortunately, It Was Paradise | Online Screening and Panel Discussion Series – 1 Aug

Unfortunately, It Was Paradise positions place-making as a radical, collaborative yet unstable process measured against experiences of exile, social upheaval, and political rupture.⁠

The films of ALi Cherry, Jumana Mannam, Farah Saleh Larissa Sansour trace elusive narratives of home and belonging grounded in broad questions of freedom and bondage, stasis and movement, and unease and catharsis. Conceived in response to shared experiences of physical distancing, the exhibition maps itself onto the dynamic and shifting nature of place as a landscape impacted by circumstance.

Please register for this event in advance by visiting: www.vac.ca/vacevents.html

Date: Saturday, 1st August
Times: 11:00 am EST / 9:00 am MDT / 5:00 pm CEST / 7:00 pm GST

Screening of Ali Cherri’s The Disquiet, 2013 and Farah Saleh’s Cells of Illegal Education, 2016.

weekly-logo
artist forms link
New Belfast Community Arts Initiative trading as Community Arts Partnership is a registered charity (XR 36570) and a company limited by guarantee (Northern Ireland NI 37645).Registered with The Charity Commission as New Belfast Community Arts Initiative - NIC105169.