Keith Acheson – Up Close (Movement VII from Elipses) – Video

In February 2021, Keith Acheson completed the composition of a 12 movement work for soprano, woodwind quartet and string quartet entitled ‘Ellipses’.

It is a complete setting of the poetry collection of the same name, by poet Maria McManus.
Lasting approximately one hour, the composition of Ellipses was made possible and supported by the Arts Council of Northern Ireland and the Department for Communities through the Individuals Emergency Resilience Programme. My sincere thanks to them for their generous support.

This rough mix of ‘Up Close’ is movement VII and features the wonderful soprano, Caroline Joy Clarke.

Up close,

is beauty
then so overpowering
they/we can’t hold

the look/look it straight

in the eye, like real love –

real love, that knows
whether to keep its distance

and when to be intimate,
not some

Words: Maria McManus

Music © 2021 Keith Acheson
Video & Audio Editing Keith Acheson
Videos courtesy of Mixkit

artist forms link
New Belfast Community Arts Initiative trading as Community Arts Partnership is a registered charity (XR 36570) and a company limited by guarantee (Northern Ireland NI 37645).Registered with The Charity Commission as New Belfast Community Arts Initiative - NIC105169.