Seamus Heaney Award for New Writing – Hall of Fame

Each year, Community Arts Partnership publishes an anthology of new writing from poets across Northern Ireland. This will also be CAP’s twentieth anthology, and submissions have been open since 10th September 2019 Anyone living in Northern Ireland is eligible to make a submission for the anthology by following the guidelines on the website. The submissions process will close on Monday December 2nd, 2019 at 9 am, sharp.

This year we are excited to announce that with the support of the Arts Council of Northern Ireland and of the Heaney family, we will be presenting the sixth Seamus Heaney Award for New Writing to the most outstanding submission through this process. We extend our sincere thanks to the Heaney family for the continued opportunity to offer the awards, in particular Marie Heaney for her warm support.

The previous winners of the award can be seen below.

Inaugural Seamus Heaney Award for New Writing – 2015 – Winner Stephanie Conn
Winner 2016 – Marilyn McLaughlin
Winner 2017 – Glen Wilson
Winner 2018 – Linda McKenna
CAP’s CEO, Conor Shields presents the Seamus Heaney Award for New Writing 2019 to Kathleen McCracken (for Chironomy), with Maria McManus
artist forms link
New Belfast Community Arts Initiative trading as Community Arts Partnership is a registered charity (XR 36570) and a company limited by guarantee (Northern Ireland NI 37645).Registered with The Charity Commission as New Belfast Community Arts Initiative - NIC105169.